The Collections

Danish Early Modern Art

The Collection of Danish Early Modern Art consists of a fairly small group of paintings, sculptures, and ceramics made by Danish artists between c. 1880 and 1950. It includes work by Theodor Philipsen, Jens Ferdinand Willumsen, L. A. Ring, and Peter Hansen as well as 12 paintings by Vilhelm Hammershøi. In contrast to the museum’s other two collections, nearly all its works of art were acquired by C. L. David himself.

The rooms usually occupied by the Collection of Danish Early Modern Art have been vacated to provide the setting for upcoming special exhibitions. For an extended period, Danish art will be represented only by the internationally acclaimed painter Vilhelm Hammershøi (1864-1916).